The lack of rain and extremely dry conditions has forced municipalities across the region to issue fire bans.

Caledon will be under a partial burn ban starting on Friday.  The ban will apply to all open air fires but small, contained fires, with a permit, will be allowed until further notice.

Oro-Medonte joined the growing list of municipalities under a fire ban on Thursday.

Algonquin Park has banned any outdoor burning.  Only portable appliances that have a shut-off valve are allowed for cooking or heating.

All of Northern York Region is under a total fire ban.  This includes East Gwillimbury, Georgina, Newmarket, Aurora and Whitchurch-Stouffville.

Beausoleil First Nation issued a fire ban on Wednesday for Christian Island, Beckwith Island, Hope Island and Cedar Point.

Fire departments in Dufferin County have also issued a fire ban.

A fire ban is in place for Muskoka, Penetanguishene, Tiny and Tay Townships.

On Monday, fire departments in Adjala-Tosorontio, Barrie, Bradford, New Tecumseth and Severn upgraded the fire danger rating to high. 

Wasaga Beach also has a high fire danger rating.

A burn ban includes campfires, outdoor cooking fires, burning of debris and fireworks. 

All burn permits are suspended during a total fire ban.

The fire danger rating is expected to be upgraded to 'extreme' throughout the region by Friday if we don’t see any precipitation. The rating means the chances of starting a brush fire in these communities is very likely if there’s an open flame.